Details of MZU:

Mizoram University was created by an Act of Parliament (No. 8 of 2000) and it became functional from 2nd July, 2001. The University is located at Aizawl, the capital city of Mizoram and is spread over 978.1988 acres in an area on the outskirts of the city. Prior to the existence of the Mizoram University, the North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU) with headquarters at Shillong was operating a campus in Mizoram. Headed by a Pro-Vice Chancellor, the then Mizoram Campus of NEHU consisted of seven Post-Graduate Departments, namely, Economics, Education, English, Forestry, Mizo, Psychology and Public Administration. During the last 17 years of its existence, Mizoram University has made considerable progress in terms of infrastructure, academic programmes, manpower and support services.

Mizoram University was accredited ‘A’ grade by NAAC in 2019. The University was ranked as one of the top 100 Universities in India,assessed by the NIRF rankings in 2016, 2017 and 2018 under MHRD. The University

has 33 functioning academic departments offering UG, PG, M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes under 8 Schools of Study. The University has 35 affiliated colleges and one constituent college.

The University admitted 3,036 total students in 2017-18 out of which 165 students are from other states and foreign countries. The University has 208 full time faculty and 76% of the faculty are with Ph.D. qualification.

The University is one of the pioneering Universities in the country which has successfully implemented the Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) since 2013.

During the last five years the University has awarded 277 Ph.D. degrees in different disciplines. The faculty has published 1385 papers in reputed journals, and over 900 books, book chapters in edited volumes and conference proceedings during the last five years. In line as per SCOPUS, WoS and Indian Citation Index data bases, a total of 7434 citations were recorded with the average h-index of 26 (SCOPUS and WoS).The University teachers filed 20 Patents based on their individual research outcomes.

MZU Vice Chancellor:

Prof. K.R.S. Sambasiva Rao

(Tenure  :  November 16, 2017 – November 16, 2022)

Phones   : (Office) 0389-2330650/2330651

(Residence) 0389-2330584

FAX : 0389-2330644

Email :

MZU Registrar:

Prof. Lalnundanga

(Tenure : 1st May 2019 – 30th April, 2024)

Phones : (Office) 0389-2330654/2330642

FAX : 0389-2330834

Email :